Advertisement

Ever pondered the difference between soy sauce and tamari? Both start with by-products of fermented soybeans, but soy sauce is brewed with wheat to speed up fermentation, while tamari has little to no wheat (and is often gluten-free). Tamari is darker than soy sauce, with a more delicate, less salty flavor. You can often use the sauces interchangeably, but choose tamari when cooking with mild ingredients so their flavors shine.

Here are some delicious ways to use this savory sauce:

550_RU259453
550_RU199015
550_RU233973
550_RU186383