The Best Beach Reads of Summer 2018

Nothing says summer bliss like your feet in the sand and a good book in your hand.
By Christina Izzo ,

Photography by Peter Ardito

1. For the Chick-Lit Lover

The Husband Hour, by Jamie Brenner

After her soldier husband is killed in action, Lauren Adelman retreats to her family’s beach house— only to find her peace punctured when her overbearing parents move in and a documentary filmmaker enters the scene. Expect plenty of family secrets and warm-weather romance. ($20, Amazon)

2. For the TV Addict

Bachelor Nation, by Amy Kaufman

If you know your Alex Michels from your Arie Jr.s, this is the book for you. In this look inside the Bachelor franchise, writer Amy Kaufman crams in enough behind-thescenes bombshells to power an entire season of reality TV. Trust us—it’s just as juicy as a final rose ceremony. ($15, Amazon)

3. For the Thrill Seeker

Tangerine, by Christine Mangan

Fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train: This buzzy nail-biter, centered on a friendship gone fatal in 1950s Morocco, will be your new favorite thriller. Fittingly it’s set to hit the big screen in an adaptation coproduced by George Clooney and starring Scarlett Johansson. ($13, Amazon)

4. For the Social Activist

The Female Persuasion, By Meg Wolitzer

The latest from the author of The Interestings follows college freshman Greer Kadetsky as she navigates romance and ambition under the mentorship of feminist icon Faith Frank. Gender politics might seem heavy for a beach day, but Wolitzer’s writing goes down as easy as a mojito. ($19, Amazon)

5. For Culture Vulture

Feel Free, By Zadie Smith

From the novelist behind Swing Time comes this entertaining essay collection that seamlessly bridges high and low culture. It’s divided into five sections, including “In the Audience,” “In the Gallery,” and “On the Bookshelf,” making it easy to bounce from Brexit to Beyoncé in between dips in the ocean. ($18, Amazon)

Join the Conversation